111 Feet Up–Climbing the Main Mast of a Fully-Rigged Tall Ship … at 9 Knots

Here’s a video posted by Norway’s Stiftelsen Fullriggeren Sørlandet academy showing first-person view of a climb up the main mast of the world’s oldest full-rigged tall ship Sørlandet.…MORE

Photo:

About Indian Rocks Bridge

We have a HUGE responsibility to protect our children and their futures. Our Gulf of Mexico has nearly been destroyed by the Deep-water Horizon catastrophe and many families here will never recover. Paradise lost, so it goes. I’m doing my best to apolitically educate anyone that cares about the impact on our environment by technology and “for-profit” progress. We forget, too frequently that we SHARE this planet with millions of other life-forms and as the most “powerful” species, we must be more cognizant of our greed versus the well-being of our planet. Thanks again for visiting and please check back often. -Gregg indianrocksbridge@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in On The Water and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 111 Feet Up–Climbing the Main Mast of a Fully-Rigged Tall Ship … at 9 Knots

  1. sarasinart says:

    I don’t do “up”, so that was a little scary even to watch. I could never understand how those tall ships don’t capsize with so much sail and weight up that high.

    Like

  2. Capt Jill says:

    I remember doing that when I was a cadet, it was very scary, but it was also a real rush!
    We were not on a full rigged ship, we were on a brigantine, but it was still pretty high up there. I’d love to sail a tall ship again, I’m not sure I could still get up there to furl the sails anymore. Wish I could afford to do it anyway.

    Like

  3. Capt Jill says:

    Reblogged this on Capt Jills Journeys and commented:
    I got this post from Gcaptain a while ago and was going to post a blog about it. Indian Rocks Bridge beat me to it, so I’ll just re-blog. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: 111 Feet Up–Climbing the Main Mast of a Fully-Rigged Tall Ship … at 9 Knots | Captain Jills Journeys

Leave a Reply

